Lucille, the Diva – Lucille MacGibbon

30 April 2015

The Diva, as Lucille calls herself, decided that we should have meet at the Crystal Towers Hotel for our Tea Date.  It was a special afternoon with serious discussions as well as “girlie giggles”!

Lucille, you qualify to share my desk and it is a privilege to see you behind it.

Lucille desk

A bit about Lucille

Lucille is a Human Resources Business Partner at SA Rugby and looks after the referees, rugby department, operations, finance, corporate affairs and the executive team.

          …….a hectic job with major responsibilities, but she is fortunate to (regularly) appear on photos with some great hunks 😉

Lucille’s coffee mug 

A cute mug covered with cupcake pictures;  because Lucille loves sweet things!!

 Framed mug

Our Live, Love, Laugh conversation:

 Live:  Lucille lost her husband in a hijacking in July 2000 and accepting the loss of not only a spouse, but also a marriage, has been a long, tough journey.  I know Lucille to be a chirpy lady who still loves life and wanted to know how she does this despite the very sad trauma she experienced.

Confidently, without hesitation, she answered:  “Avoid negativity, don’t listen to it.  Forget about ‘I can’t – no, it is I can’.  I believe in being positive, and yes, it is an inner battle and a conscious decision to take every day.  However, I know that positive energy and thoughts lead to positive encounters.  I also experienced my faith in God got me through the trauma.”

Love your LookLucille’s image tip:  “If you are a slightly bigger women, you can still maintain a sense of trendiness.  Do not neglect yourself – make an effort with your makeup and hair”.

                         …..I hope all the plus size ladies take this advice to heart. Lucille always looks immaculate – even when in casuals.

 Laugh:  “I was once stopped in a roadblock where the traffic cop noticed my license disk has expired.  I panicked a bit, but then told the (Afrikaans speaking) traffic cop that the license disk was couriered from Johannesburg to Cape Town as I am in the process of moving (the latter being the truth).  The cop frowned at me,  totally confused, clearly not understanding what “couriered” meant…and then told me I can go.  We had a good laugh in the car – probably more out of relief rather than the word “couriered”  not being understood by the cop”

Lucille’s secret revealed:

She can do beading!  Lucille wears the most beautiful pearls which I never knew she beaded herself.

….I tried very hard, but it seems that Lucille really don’t have any dark secrets to share (LOL).  Lucille, may we place orders for your beautiful pearls, please?

 The crazy classy gift!

Lucille travels for work and I decided to give her a travel buddy that can keep her warm;  small enough to easily fit into her suitcase.  Lucille, your buddy will have to get a name – we are waiting to hear!

gift

What I have learned from Lucille: 

I have learned that it is “ok” to seek help when we do not cope in life.  Lucille made use of professional help and support groups after her husband was killed.  There are qualified professionals and wonderful support groups for a reason – we just need to admit that we need their help.

We also need to be aware of God’s presence in our difficult times and recognise the angels (caring people) He sends us.

 

Thank you for sharing Lucille!  Until we meet at the next Tea Date.

 

 

 

 

 

2 comments on “Lucille, the Diva – Lucille MacGibbon

  1. Sweet2th says:

    I love your blog, and I especially enjoy your shared desk. Thanks to Lucille for sharing with us all – having met her briefly, her story is incredibly inspirational, and her loveliness shines through. “Avoid Negativity” is such a simple philosophy, yet such a powerful one! And…I also see a kindred Coffee spirit…

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Lucille says:

    Aaaw, thank you Lianne for inviting me on a tea date to share a bit of me with you and your audience. It was great chatting to you. I love the work you are doing and the inspiration you are to many women out there. I will support you 100% on your new journey. I love the look and feel of your blog and website. Looking forward to our next tea date, hopefully then I will be able to share more with you and the fabulous ladies out there! God Bless!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

