Plain Jane – Ronel Smith

9 May 2015

The very humble Ronel allowed me to choose a venue for our Tea Date.  She deserved to be spoiled and I took her to the Peninsula Hotel in Sea Point.  The weather played along and we had a super time next to the swimming pool!

Ronel, you look great behind my desk!  Welcome!

Ronel desk

 

A bit about Ronel

Ronel is an accountant at Cape Cheese. After 21 years at the company she knows the business inside-out…and of making cheese too!

       …….come to think about it – I should have twisted her arm(sic!)for a gift of cheese 🙂

Ronel’s tea cup

Ronel brought a tea cup belonging to her Mom.  This reminds her of her granny, a real lady, who enjoyed tea and a biscuit at 11h00 daily.  The tea cup stayed on our table throughout our conversation and attracted much attention and comments to our amazement!

 Tea cup pool

Our Live, Love, Laugh conversation:

 Live:   “Life threw me a curve ball when my sister died 9 years ago.  I have never seen myself as a ‘go getter’, but this experience has taught me that we can determine our own destiny. I was bowled over, but realised that I cannot depend on others to pick me up. I had to get up myself –  the world owes me nothing!  I try to instill this lesson in my children as well:  “There is no such thing as ‘I cannot anymore’.  Endure and try – you will see what you are capable of.”

Ronel has 2 daughters of her own and adopted her sister’s 2 daughters all 4 now teenagers!  Salute! to what you have achieved thusfar with these beautiful young ladies.

Love your Look:  Ronel’s image tip   :  “I dress for comfort!!”.

        …..there you go!  Words of someone who is happy in her own body.

Laugh:  Ronel shared a personal story which had me in stitches.  Ronel has always been a very shy and reserved lady. Some time ago she visited a Dermatologist who, to her surprise, asked her to strip down to her underwear and wear the gown on the examination table.  She then, with horror and embarrassment, discovered that the gown was way too small and could not gather in front – which half exposed her!  Ronel’s comment:  “What is he thinking – not all women are the same size”.  Imagine this sight – the doctor entering the examination room and breaking into a grin!?

 Ronel’s secret revealed:

Ronel loves reading Mills & Boons novels and even taught me how these books are colour coded : there is a different ‘band colour’ for each genre!

Well, this piece of information intrigued me and I went to Google it.  It seems that different countries use different coding systems, but the Afrikaans website shows  MODERN – dark blue;  DESIRE – red;  MEDICAL – green; INSPIRE – turquoise, to name but a few genres.

The crazy classy gift!

I decided to spoil this busy lady with a Mills & Boons book – how could I not?! (and please note the band colour: pink for ‘soothing’).  The bookmark will hopefully remind her of her carefree childhood days when she lost herself in books and never even took notice of friends who came to visit.

I hope this will encourage some “me-time”, Ronel

Ronel geskenk

What I have learned from Ronel: 

Don’t judge a book by it’s cover.  Despite the fact that Ronel is very quiet, reserved and prefers to stay in the background, she is an exceptionally strong woman who has made lemonade with all the lemons life has thrown at her.  She has, however, done this in her own quiet, remarkable manner without complaining nor looking to others to solve her problems. She practiced what she preaches:  “get up and move on!”

 

Until we meet at the next Tea Date!

 

 

 

2 comments on “Plain Jane – Ronel Smith

  1. Lucille says:

    Awesome Ronel, I salute you! I loved reading about your interview. You are an inspiration to all of us women out there and certainly confirms the strength and power of women as fighters, mothers, mentors, wifes and just being real and authentic and making the best out of life and not letting it get us down!
    God bless, Lucille

    Like

Leave a Reply

