Jack of all Trades – Catherina Heunis

16 May 2016

Being as unpretentious as she is, it came as no surprise when Catherina insisted I meet her at her office in Stellenbosch instead of a fancy coffee shop or hotel.  She decided to do some work before I arrive.

        ……the perfect example of a conscientious employee – she worked on the Saturday of our Tea Date; and late every day due to management pressures!

Catherina, you qualified to move in behind my desk. It brings memories of your PA days where you also sat behind my desk 😉

Catherina desk

A bit about Catherina

Catherina started work at Tokara Wine Estate 11 years ago. She was appointed to an Administration & Accountant position.  Hard work and further studies, lead to her promotion as Administration & Financial Manager.

 Catherina’s coffee mug

No tea cup for this girl, just a plain white coffee mug “because it is functional – it works for both coffee and tea.”

…..a typical accountant?!  🙂 

 Oh, yes, there is another reason as well:  “it has a thin edge lip – I hate thick-edged mugs”

Mug final

Our Live, Love, Laugh conversation:

 Live:   “I am a fixer, but I had to learn to accept the fact that I cannot fix everybody’s lives for them;  especially not to be the way I think it should be.  When someone has a problem, I am always the one to jump in and find a solution.  I have, however, often been disappointed by people who did not agree with my suggestions or did not accept my help.  It took me a long time to realise that sometimes one just has to let go and allow others to solve their problems in their own way….and it is still tough for me to keep my distance.”

Catherina lost both her parents at a very young age and was the strong one for her 3 siblings. She also lost her first husband shortly after their marriage. Through all these circumstances she had a fighting spirit and did not allow life to get her down.  No wonder you are a fixer, Catherina!

Love your LookCatherina’s image tip

“I have no tip – you know that I cannot get the dress thing right.  Did you notice I am wearing a scarf today?”

….You are just so preciously honest!

 “Ok, on a serious note:  find out who you are, how you want to look and do not try to dress like someone else”

….See, you are not clueless!

 Laugh:  “As we are also in the restaurant business,  let me share with you how strange people can behave when eating out. Someone I know went to a well-known restaurant on Mother’s Day.  He noticed a group of people who frequently passed a handbag from the one to the other and would then do “something” with it, but trying to ensure nobody notices.  Guess what did?  The had a “papsak” wine in the handbag, made a hole at the bottom for the tap and filled their glasses under the table when the handbag was moved around.  Can you believe it?”

 Catherina’s secret revealed:

“I have an unbearable desire for knowledge! I always want to know everything (gossip excluded) although I have no clue as to what I want to do with it all. BUT, I always think I may just need that information somewhere in the future!”.

….so Catherina, are you like those little kids who keep on asking “why?”

The crazy classy gift!

As Catherina is a very organised and methodical person who may easily forget there is more to life than just work, I chose red bicycle paperclips for her.

May these remind you to have more fun too!

Gift photo

 What I have learned from Catherina: 

She gives a different meaning to the expression “dynamite comes in small packages”.  Although she is energetic, walks fast, works hard, fixes problems, moves and shakes; she remains humble, unpretentious, positive and prepared to “fix herself” (learn from life).  This little dynamite lady can explode, believe me, but by the time it happens she has good reason; and never the intention to hurt or humiliate people.

Catherina, value the fact that you are a very special lady with a huge heart!

 

Until we meet at the next Tea Date!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

