Spread a little (of God’s) love

I listen to Havana Brown singing “if we spread a little love, we’ll never die” (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0WMkUZan-oo) and I am reminded of an incident on my flight to Johannesburg today.

 I’d like to share it with you:

I am doing my normal “landing ritual” – pack away laptop, take out makeup purse, put lipstick on, rub cream on my hands….

A lady on the opposite side of the ‘plane, one row in front of me, gets out of her isle seat and makes eye contact with me as she turns around.  With her lips she forms the words “I’d like to ask you something”.  She moves into the half empty row behind me to reach me in my window seat.

“Can I perhaps use some of your lipstick?  I will use my finger to put it on.  I have just washed my hands” (Yes, I saw her come out of the bathroom cubicle)…

‘I have 2 lipsticks in my makeup purse, but neither colours will look good against your skin tone…’ my image consultant mind thinks, but I give her the one I just used.

“Put on some more” …I tell her.

“That looks pretty” …I hear myself say.

She responds with a soft voice:

“We are meeting a friend at the airport whom we have not seen in a very long time.  I had to pack so quickly I forgot my lipstick.  My husband is very ill …with cancer” (Yes, I saw him before we boarded – pale, fragile and weak.  I wondered about him…)

With tear filled eyes she stretches her hand out to me:  “I am going through a very tough time.  He can hardly walk”.  (Yes, I saw that too …just like my dad at the moment…)

Spontaneously I take her hand between both of mine and squeeze it against my cheek. Fighting my own tears I can only say “I will think of you”…

She leaves.  I stare out of my little ‘plane window to God’s creation on the outside and I pray for her:

for strength, peace and that through our hands touching, I could pass on some of God’s amazing love I am so privileged to experience!

God reminded me today that ‘spreading a little love’ has a huge impact – not only on the receiver, but also on the giver…

I will keep on thinking about her!

spread love Mother T

GEE ‘N BIETJIE (VAN GOD SE) LIEFDE

Ek luister hoe Havana Brown sing “if we spread a little love, we’ll never die” (sien die video hierbo) en dink terug aan ‘n insident vandag op my vlug na Johannesburg. 

Ek deel dit graag met jou:

Ek is besig met my normale “landingsritueel” – pak skootrekenaar weg, haal grimeersakkie uit, sit lipstiffie aan, smeer room aan my hande….

‘n Dame aan die oorkant van die vliegtuig, een ry voor my, staan uit haar paadjie-sitplek op en maak oogkontak met my toe sy omdraai.  Met haar lippe vorm sy die woorde “ek wil jou iets vra”.  Sy skuif in die half lee ry agter my in om tot by my venster-sitplek te kom.

“Kan ek dalk van jou lipstiffie gebruik? Ek sal dit met my vinger aansmeer.  Ek het pas my hande gewas.”   (Ja, ek het haar gesien toe sy uit die badkamerhokkie kom)…

‘Ek het 2 lipstiffies in my grimeersakkie, maar nie een van die kleure gaan goed lyk teen jou velkleur nie…’ dink my voorkomsbrein, maar ek gee haar die een wat ek pas gebruik het.

“Sit ‘n bietjie meer aan” …se ek vir haar.

“Dit lyk mooi” …hoor ek myself se.

Sy reageer met ‘n sagte stem:

“Ons ontmoet ‘n vriend by die lughawe wat ons baie lanklaas gesien het.  Ek moes so vinnig inpak ek het my lipstiffie vergeet.  My man is baie siek …met kanker”. (Ja, ek het hom gesien voor ons opgeklim het – bleek, broos, swak en ek het gewonder oor hom)

Met oe vol trane steek sy haar hand uit na my: “Ek gaan deur ‘n baie moeilike tyd.  Hy kan amper nie meer loop nie”.  (Ja, ek het dit gesien.. net soos my pa op die oomblik)

Spontaan neem ek haar hand in beide myne en druk dit teen my wang.  Ek baklei teen my eie trane en kry net “ek sal aan jou dink” uit.

Sy stap terug.  Ek staar deur die klein vliegtuigvenstertjie na God se skepping daar buite en ek bid vir haar:

vir krag, vrede en dat deur die aanraking van ons hande, dit vir my moontlik was om ‘n stukkie van God se ongelooflike liefde, wat ek so bevoorreg is om te ervaar, aan haar kon gee.

God het my vandag daaraan herinner dat die gee van ‘n bietjie liefde’n groot impak het – nie net op die een wat dit ontvang nie, maarook op die een wat gee…

Ek sal aanhou dink aan haar!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 comments on “Spread a little (of God’s) love

  1. Sweet2th says:

    Lianne, what a beautiful story! I could not help the tears in my eyes. And to think that when I read that you were asked to lend lipstick, I thought it was going to be a “horror” story. It never fails to amaze – on a aeroplane full of people, it was your seat that was close to hers, it was you who has the landing routine, and it was this woman who had a lesson to teach and met with someone who has an inspirational and lifting blog that shares with so many.

    What a Blessing you are, and how Blessed we all are!!

    Liesl

    Like

Leave a Reply

