Be Positive – Yolanda Siebrits

16 October 2015

Yolanda decided Café Chameleon was the place to be for our tea date – a restaurant with a stunning view of Table Mountain and Cape Town.  We met on a Friday afternoon late – the perfect setting to the end of a busy week.

It is a privilege to welcome you behind my desk Yolanda!  I am sure you look as good behind your own.

Yolanda Desk

A bit about Yolanda

Yolanda started her career in banking and has worked as an Administrator in the insurance industry over the last 20 years.  She currently works for Sphere Consult.

Yolanda, I am sure you know EVERYTHING about insurance and  a good contact to have 🙂

Yolanda’s tea cup

Yolanda has a tea set which is about 40 years old. The set of 4 cups, saucers and cake plates was a gift from her dad to her mom when she(Yolanda) was still a child.

Tee koppie

How precious!  It is beautiful, Yolanda.

 Our Live, Love, Laugh conversation 

Live:  “I am inspired by ill people who are always positive and never complain – they just carry on with life.  Joost van der Westhuizen is one such a person: he turned his illness into something positive and inspiring.  These people help me forget my own problems. I try to avoid negative people!”.

Yolanda’s faith carries her in difficult times and helps her to  stay positive.  During a recent difficult time her sister-in-law advised her and her husband to read Ps 91 as encouragement.  Yolanda accidently read the wrong Psalm:  Ps 90.  She believes it was meant to be as Ps 90:11 – 17 became her ‘life line’  –  she read this passage every single night for months!

“I have learned that difficulties teach us to have true sympathy and empathy.”

Yolanda, I have never seen you despondent – you are always your bubbly self.  Thanks for sharing your secret with us; we can learn from you!

Love your look:  Yolanda’s image tips

Yolanda believes that if your hair is “in place” and clean, you will FEEL good.

….and then she adds with a serious tone of voice:

“I also do not believe in going out with dirty or broken clothes – never!”

Two simple, yet invaluable tips. 

Laugh:  Banking used to be a formal environment in the days Yolanda started her career – people were addressed as Mr, Mrs or Ms. Three weeks into her career she was called to take a phone call from an English speaking person.  Being an Afrikaans ‘Mej Groenewald’, her brain went into ‘translation overdrive’ and she identified herself as “Miss Greenawald”.   Realising her mistake, she started giggling,  so much, she could not continue her conversation with the client.

Ha ha…..do any of you perhaps have a surname which can be translated?  I’d love to know!

Yolanda’s secret revealed

“I am claustrophobic and lifts are a huge NO! for me.  Years ago I worked on the eighth floor of a building (the Sanbel Building for the Capetonians who may know the building).  As the lift made me feel hugely uncomfortable, I decided to take the stairs to the ground floor and then discovered a locked security door at the bottom.  I was not going to take the stairs back to the eighth floor and started to bash the door with all my weight.  The door eventually flung open and the alarm went off.  I had security storming me – it was very hard to convince them of my innocence.”

Oh my word!  Yolanda is a very petite lady, so I can just imagine what security must have thought when they saw who actually bashed open the security door.

The crazy classy gift!

Yolanda is a master entertainer and always surprises her guests with the most interesting and divine baking…not to mention her desserts!  Doing dishes is hard work and I thought Yolanda will appreciate a ‘cute companion’ to make her task lighter.

0796c38f-1ec1-4fab-a9f4-ebdcc6d49a34

What I have learned from Yolanda

 How often we look at (happy) people and assume they are ‘ok’ and seem to be handling their circumstances fairly well?  How terribly wrong we can be?

Yolanda taught me that although people may look ‘ok’ when they have difficult circumstances, they may actually not be. We need to be more supportive when friends, family and acquaintances go through tough times, even if it seems they are coping…

Until our next cup of tea!

Leave a Reply

