Pushing the Blue Boundaries

I can finally report back on action 1 of the 10 planned while moving towards the 50-horizon.

I love blue!  Everybody knows that!  So guess what?  I pushed my own blue boundaries and had blue in my hair.  Yes, you are reading this correctly!  Conservative I had blue hair!

It all happened because of a photo gone wrong.

After the first visit to my new hairdresser a dear friend insisted on a selfie to see the new shorter hairstyle.  Not very well practiced in selfies I tried my best self-pose and sent off the picture, upon which the response was “do you have blue in your hair? It looks stunning”.

Hair 1

Quite confused I looked at my selfie again and noticed a blue tint around my head.  I am quite sure the blue section of the rainbow caught me on that cloudy day while I tried to take the best picture of myself.

Nevertheless, the blue hair seed was planted and I decided “why not?”  Like my husband always says “you can change it again”.

With the next hairdressing appointment I explained that it needs to be subtle, not look cheap, blend in with the current hair colour…. Although I have prepared myself for this weird hair colour, I still did not want it to be too much in my face.  But then, to my own surprise, I was disappointed when I left the hairdresser and could not really see blue hair.

So even though I was ready for shocking blue hair by the time I had to be back at the hairdresser, the process was not as easy as we thought it would be and I left disappointed again.  (I was actually quite surprised that by now I was really looking forward to blue hair).

As the saying goes, third time lucky and I finally had visible blue in my hair!

20160421_115322

 

Being a facilitator in corporate image for the past 16 years and always very aware of the fact that I have to practise what I preach, this blue hair exercise was quite liberating for me! I also realised, that we are very often reluctant to make drastic changes to our appearance or our style because we are scared of “what the people will say”. Yes, we all long for approval and acceptance, but criticism and comments are people’s own personal opinion – it is not about whether you did the right or the wrong thing; or whether people will like you or not!

So more blue hair is certainly on my agenda for Summer!

 

 

 

 

2 comments on “Pushing the Blue Boundaries

  1. Anonymous says:

    Love the new look …stunning xxx The blue really does suite you.

    Like

  2. Anonymous says:

    I LOVE the new Look! well done for expanding the boundaries! it suites you! 🙂 _ Hellen

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

