Never too old to learn!

Afrikaans verskyn onder die Engels.

I still get nightmares when I think about writing exams.  For me, exams were very stressful. Besides the fact that I had to work hard for every single mark, I was also extremely conscientious with a conscience which could drive me crazy. I was no academic performer, but felt I had to do better than my best.

For the past 17 years, however, I was the “teacher” and presented many workshops and courses.  While I spent many hours of self-study, thankfully there were very few exams.

As part of my journey towards 50 I decided it is time to swop roles and be a student again. I enrolled for a few courses and workshops, making careful choices to ensure I enjoy every moment and keep tests to the minimum. …and I do indeed admire those who study again after they’ve graduated, but at my age I do not have to impress anybody and I know very well that’s  not for me!

fresh-horizonsI started the year with a “Money Breakthrough Method” workshop – just because a friend recommended it and I had to start somewhere.  I’ve learned new principles I really wish to apply, but was soon reminded how difficult it is to create new habits (and yes, I am still practising!).  (Presented by Mandy Russel of Fresh Horizons: http://www.freshhorizons.co.za)

b6c8e0c4-0566-4253-baeb-d454da801357Next on my list was a “Visual Journalling” workshop presented by the well-known Anel Stricker-Bessinger …..an opportunity which crossed my path in an interesting way (a story on its own!).  I made amazing new friends as a new world of mixed art media opened up for me. I love trying out new techniques (it’s amazing how stress releasing it is), but also realise there is still so MUCH to learn. When I feel overwhelmed, my advice to my students often echoes in my mind: “magic does not happen overnight”…  This new journey in Visual/Art Journalling is fantastic  and so has found a place in my new business concept, “Tea Time Learning”.

During the winter months I enrolled for an online “Blogging and Content Marketing” course – an 8 week course –  with weekly webinars and requiring a huge commitment. It included homework assignments, reading and eventually an exam!  I took a deep breath, wrote the exam and passed with flying colours!  I am so proud of myself, and for passing with no nightmares!

pencil-proofI have a longing to sketch!  I crossed  paths, again in an amazing way, with a very special person, Elma Ferreira (of Pencil Proof, http://www.pencilproof.com).  I registered and arrived at the first session  of her drawing course, nervous and excited! I had no idea what awaited me…  It was not long before I knew:  “this was NOT going to be easy” …and believe me, it was the hardest thing I have ever tackled.  Yet, I have learned so much about myself. pencil-proof On the surface it looks as if I did very well, but every line, curve, circle, shadow I had to draw, was so DIFFICULT!!! And I know exactly why: preconceived ideas of forms, lines, circles prevented me drawing spontaneously! I know it will take a lot of practice before I will master this “art”.  My biggest lesson, however, was personal and I am ever thankful to the patient Elma (and her assistant Rhona) for this.  The personal journey continues ….

Without signing up officially, I have also been on a challenging Spiritual ‘course’ the past few months.  A course where my Creator has honed my thoughts, my future, my existence, my entire being (and He is still busy).  Not an easy course, but one which prepares me for new challenges …..

What have I learned? Everything one learns and tries is part of your personal growth and adds to a richer journey on earth.  It is often not the content of the course that matters, but rather the individual experience!

7-key-reasons-why-financial-education-is-your-best-investment-quote-1024x694

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

NOOIT TE OUD OM TE LEER NIE!

Ek kry nou nog nagmerries as ek net aan eksamens dink.  Eksamens was vir my BAIE stresvol.  Behalwe dat ek hard moes werk vir elke punt, was ek vreeslik pligsgetrou en het ‘n gewete gehad wat my kon mal maak.  Ek was nie juis ‘n akademiese uitblinker nie, maar het gevoel ek moet beter as my beste doen!

Die afgelope 17 jaar was ek egter die “onderwyser” en het vele werkswinkels en kursusse vir volwassenes aangebied.  Daar was baie ure van selfstudie , maar genadiglik bitter min eksamens.

As deel van my reis na 50 het ek besluit dis tyd om ‘n slag die rolle om te ruil en self weer student te wees.  So skryf ek toe in vir ‘n kursus en werkswinkel of twee.  Ek maak noukeurige keuses sodat ek dit ten volle kan geniet en probeer eksamens tot die minimum beperk  …en ja, ek het reuse bewondering vir diegene wat jare na hul graad gevang het verder gaan studeer, maar op hierdie ouderdom hoef ek niemand te beïndruk nie en weet ek baie goed dis nie vir my nie!

Ek skop die jaar af met ‘n “Money Breakthrough Method” werkswinkel – sommer omdat ‘n vriendin dit aanbeveel het en ek iewers moes begin.  Ek leer nuwe beginsels wat ek baie graag wil toepas, maar word gou daaraan herinner hoe moeilik dit  is om nuwe gewoontes te kweek (en ja, ek oefen nogsteeds!!)

Volgende op my lys is ‘n “Visual Journalling” werkswinkel aangebied deur die bekende Anel Stricker-Bessinger  …..’n geleentheid wat op ‘n baie interessante manier oor my pad gekom het (‘n hele storie op sy eie). ‘n Nuwe wêreld van gemengde kunsmedia gaan vir my oop en ek snoer hegte nuwe vriendskappe.  Ek probeer graag nuwe tegnieke (dis heerlike stresontlading), maar besef ook daar is nog so B.A.I.E. om te leer en my raad aan my eie studente eggo dikwels in my gedagtes wanneer ek oorweldig voel deur al die nuwigheid:  “magic does not happen overnight”.  Hierdie nuwe reis in “Visual/Art Journalling” is FANTASTIES en het ook plek gekry in my nuwe besigheidskonsep, Teetyd Leertyd.

Gedurende die wintermaande registreer ek vir ‘n aanlynkursus in “Blogging and Content Marketing”  – ‘n 8 weke kursus met weeklikse ‘webinars’.  Dit verg geweldige toewyding:  daar is huiswerk, leeswerk en uiteindelik ‘n eksamen!!  Ek haal diep asem, skryf in vir die eksamen en slaag dit met vlieënde vaandels ….en sonder enige nagmerries!

Ek het ‘n begeerte om te kan skets!  My pad kruis, weer eens op ‘n baie interessante manier, met ‘n spesiale persoon, Elma Ferreira (van Pencil Proof).  Ek skryf in vir haar tekenkursus, daag by die eerste sessie op met ‘n opgewonde senuagtigheid en geen idee wat op my wag nie!  Dis ook nie lank nie of ek besef “hierdie gaan nie maklik wees nie”….en glo my, dit was die moeilikste ding wat ek al ooit aangepak het.  Tog het ek so baie van myself geleer.  Op die oogaf lyk dit of ek fantasties gevaar het, maar elke lyn, kurwe, sirkel, skaduwee wat ek op papier neergepen het, was MOEILIK!!!!  Ek weet presies hoekom:  vooropgestelde idees van vorms, lyne, sirkels het in my pad gestaan om spontaan te skets.  Ek weet ook dat dit nog baie oefening gaan neem om hierdie ‘kuns’ behoorlik te bemeester.  My grootste les was egter persoonlik en daarvoor sal ek die geduldige Elma (en haar assistent Rhona) ewig dankbaar wees.  Die persoonlike reis gaan voort…..

Sonder dat ek amptelik ingeskryf het, was ek die afgelope maande ook op ‘n uitdagende Geestelike “kursus”.  ‘n Kursus waar my Skepper my denke, my toekoms, my bestaan, my menswees geslyp het (en steeds slyp) – nie ‘n maklike kursus nie, maar een wat my voorberei vir nuwe uitdagings…..

Wat het ek geleer?  Alles wat jy leer en probeer is deel van jou persoonlike groei en dra by tot ‘n ryker reis hier op aarde.  Dit is nie die inhoud van die kursus wat saak maak nie, maar wat jy as mens beleef het!

 

 

One comment on “Never too old to learn!

  1. Tracy Patterson says:

    Hello Sistertjie

    Please change my email to tracylynne14@gmail.com

    *From:* From the Desk of Lianne [mailto:comment-reply@wordpress.com] *Sent:* 31 October 2016 05:40 PM *To:* tracy@silvermoongroup.com *Subject:* [New post] Never too old to learn!

    Lianne Smuts posted: “Afrikaans verskyn onder die Engels. I still get nightmares when I think about writing exams. For me, exams were very stressful. Besides the fact that I had to work hard for every single mark, I was also extremely conscientious with a conscience which “

    Like

Leave a Reply

